Hello!

Well, this is my inaugural post.  I am just starting to sew my very first dress, Sewaholic’s Cambie dress in view B.

I have seen this dress all over the blogosphere and I coveted it and declared it would be mine.  I am more than a wee bit nervous and am, therefore, trying to do everything by the book.

I spent about 3 hours on Thursday night transferring the the size 6 version of the pattern to Swedish Tracing Paper.  Today I ironed my muslin fabric, which is a hot pink cotton broadcloth.  It took about an hour to iron it and then cut out all the pieces for the bodice and waistband.  I don’t plan to make a muslin for the skirt.  Hopefully, I won’t end up regretting it.  My hips are fairly narrow but I like big swishy skirts so I am not too worried.  My next step, possibly tonight, is to measure and mark all the seam allowances.  Tasia of Sewaholic says to sew a line to mark the seams but I don’t know if I trust myself to sew that straight unless I am following a line anyway.

My fabric for the dress is Joel Dewberry from the Notting Hill Collection.  I really love poppies! I made this pic montage the other night when I was tracing the pattern out.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

